College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Center for Urban  Ecology

CUE People


Tim Carter, Ph.D.  317.940.6506

Tim received his Ph.D. in 2006 from the University of Georgia where he evaluated the use of vegetated roofs for urban ecosystem remediation. As a post-doc and faculty member in the River Basin Center at Odum School of Ecology at UGA his work focused on the intersection between urbanization and environmental management through studies of designer ecosystems, sustainable development, environmental policy, and climate change impacts on coastal areas. As the first director of the CUE, Tim explores opportunities to improve urban ecological conditions through public outreach, student engagement, innovative project development, and research. 

CUE Farm Manager:
Tim Dorsey  

Tim joined the CUE in the Summer of 2011 through funding from the Nina Mason Pulliam Trust. He manages all aspects of the Farm including planning, crop selection, production schedules, volunteer opportunities, the CSA program, and restaurant sales.

Sustainability Coordinator:
McKenzie Beverage

McKenzie is Butler's first sustainability coordinator and is charged with enhancing environmental stewardship and minimizing energy consumption on campus. She will help Butler fulfill the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment pledge to create a long-range plan to eliminate the campus' net emissions of greenhouse gases. McKenzie holds undergraduate and graduate degrees from Indiana University (Bloomington), where she focused on sustainable development and interned at the Office of Sustainability. Prior to Butler, McKenzie was the program advisor for the Student Sustainability Committee at the University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana), overseeing more than $1 million in funding for green projects around campus.

Community Organizer:
Molly Trueblood

Molly is the community builder for the Indianapolis/City as Living Laboratory (I/CaLL) project. Working with neighborhood and community organizations, Molly helps connect residents to the I/CaLL installations through outreach and engagement. Molly received her B.A. in Linguistics and Anthropology from Purdue University. Since moving to Indianapolis in 2010, she has worked in the economic and community development fields, as well as serving on the board of INDYCOG and managing the Indy Winter Farmers Market. 

Internal Advisory Council

Dr. Carmen Salsbury - Department of Biological Sciences
Dr. Rebecca Dolan - Department of Biological Sciences
Dr. Travis Ryan - Department of Biological Sciences
Dr. Tom Dolan - Department of Biological Sciences

External Advisory Council

Heather Bacher - Conservationist
Sherri Bossung - Eli Lilly and Company
Anthony Bridgeman - Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Kären Haley - Indianapolis Cultural Trail, Inc.
Chris Harrell - Lazarus Group, LLC
Laura Henderson - Growing Places Indy / Indy Winter Farmers Market
Kristin Hess - Indiana Humanities
Lori Kaplan - Central Indiana Regional Transit Authority (CIRTA)
Kevin McKinney - NUVO
Neil Myers - Williams Creek Consulting
Daniel Pullium - Faegre Baker Daniels
Sara Snow - Green Living Expert