Skip to main content
School of Music

Music Faculty & Staff

Administration

 

David Murray - Director of the School of Music; Professor, Double Bass; Coordinator of Strings
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9988
dmurray@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Penny DimmickDr. Penny Dimmick - Associate Director for Undergraduate Studies; Professor, Music Education; Coordinator of Music Education
317-940-6422 
pdimmick@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Nicholas JohnsonDr. Nicholas Johnson - Associate Director for Graduate Studies; Assistant Professor, Music History
317-940-9256
ndjohns1@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Douglas SpaniolDr. Douglas Spaniol - Assistant Director for Events and Recruitment; Professor, Bassoon
dspaniol@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Matt PivecDr. Matt Pivec - Assistant Director for Curriculum, Assessment, and Faculty Affairs; Associate Professor, Saxophone; Director of Jazz Studies, Jazz Ensemble
317-940-9068
mpivec@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Courtney TrachselCourtney Trachsel - Outreach and Recruitment Coordinator
317-940-9065
ctrachse@butler.edu

 

 

 

Joy L Rogers - Administrative Assistant
317-940-9246
jlroger1@butler.edu
 

 

 

Vonna Knapp - Administrative Assistant, Budget Director 
317-940-9996
vknapp@butler.edu
 

 

 

 

Arts Administration

Brenda Lee Johnston - Assistant Professor, Arts Administration
317-940-6043
bljohnst@butler.edu
 

Susan Zurbuchen - Director of the Arts Administration Program
317-940-9463
szurbuch@butler.edu

Brass

Michael J. Colburn - Professor, Euphonium, Director of Bands, Wind Ensemble
317-940-6672
mcolburn@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Tony KniffenAnthony Kniffen - Instructor of Tuba
akniffen@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

 

Dr. Gail Lewis - Associate Professor, Horn, Coordinator of Brass, Music Theory
317-940-8369
glewis@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Allen Miller - Instructor of Trumpet
317-940-3056
admiller@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Jared Rodin - Instructor of Trombone
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-3056
jrodin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Composition

Dr. Frank Felice - Associate Professor, Composition, Electronic Music
317-940-3236
ffelice@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

James Q. Mulholland - Professor, Composition
317-940-9541
jmulholl@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Michael Schelle - Professor, Composition, Artist-in-Residence, Coordinator of Composition
317-940-9642
mschelle@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Conducting

Richard Auldon Clark - Professor, Director of Orchestral Studies, Butler Symphony Orchestra, Viola
317-940-8031
rclark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Michael J. Colburn - Professor, Director of Bands, Wind Ensemble, Euphonium
317-940-6672
mcolburn@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. John PerkinsDr. John Perkins - Assistant Professor, Associate Director of Choral Activities, University Choir, Spectra (formerly Women's Chorus)
317-940-9636
jdperkin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Eric Stark - Professor, Director of Choral Activities, Butler Chorale
317-940-9981
estark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

Jazz Studies

Dr. Matt Pivec - Associate Professor, Director of Jazz Studies, Jazz Ensemble, Saxophone, Assistant Director for Curriculum, Assessment, and Faculty Affairs
317-940-9068
mpivec@butler.edu
View Bio

Erin Benedict - Instructor of Jazz Voice, Jordan Jazz
ebenedic@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Jon Crabiel - Artist-in-Residence, Percussion, Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Ensemble
317-940-9488
jcrabiel@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Richard Dole - Instructor of Jazz Trombone
rdole@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Sean Imboden - Instructor of Jazz Saxophone
simboden@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Kenny Phelps - Instructor of Jazz Drums
View Bio

 

 

 

Dr. Jen Siukola - Instructor of Jazz Trumpet
jsiukola@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Gary Walters - Instructor of Jazz Piano
317-940-9060
gwalters@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Sandy Williams - Instructor of Jazz Guitar
317-940-9246
awwillia@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Jesse Wittman - Instructor of Jazz Bass
317-940-9246
jwittman@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Piano/Keyboard

Dr. Kate Boyd - Professor, Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
317-940-9709
kboyd@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Catherine Bringerud - Coordinator of Accompanying
317-940-8700
cbringer@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Anna Briscoe - Instructor of Piano
317-940-9647
abriscoe@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Amy Chee - Instructor of Keyboard Skills
aschindl@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Thomas Gerber - Instructor of Harpsichord
Member, Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra
tgerber@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Heather Hinton - Instructor of Organ
hfowler@butler.edu 
View Bio

 

 

Jenny Mobley - Instructor of Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Skills
317-940-9212
jmobley@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

D.J. Smith - Instructor of Piano, Keyboard Skills
317-940-8714
djsmith1@butler.edu
View Bio
 

Karen Thickstun - Instructor of Piano, Piano Pedagogy, Director of the Butler Community Arts School
317-940-5500
kthickst@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Gary Walters - Instructor of Jazz Piano
317-940-9060
gwalters@butler.edu
View Bio

Music Education

 

 

Dr. Timothy Brimmer - Professor, Music Education, Music Technology, Director of the Multisensory Learning Facility
317-940-9641
tbrimmer@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Penny Dimmick - Professor, Music Education, Coordinator of Music Education, Associate Director for Undergraduate Studies
317-940-6422 
pdimmick@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Becky Marsh - Assistant Professor, Music Education- Choral
317-940-6898
bmarsh1@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

Brian Weidner - Assistant Professor, Music Education- Instrumental
317-940-6115
bweidner@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

Elizabeth Levin - Instructor of Music Education
View Bio

Catherine Radomski - Instructor of Music Education
View Bio

Music History/Music Theory

Dr. Clare Carrasco - Assistant Professor, Music History, Coordinator of Music History
ccarrasc@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Sally Childs-Helton - Instructor of World Music
317-940-9265
schildsh@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Andrew Farina - Visiting Assistant Professor, Music Theory
317-940-8806
afarina@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Jeffrey Gillespie - Professor, Music Theory, Coordinator of Music Theory
317-940-6416
jgillesp@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Nicholas Johnson - Assistant Professor, Music History, Associate Director for Graduate Studies
317-940-9256
ndjohns1@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Rusty Jones - Associate Professor, Music Theory
(Teaching in JCA on a limited capacity while serving as the Faculty Director of the Center for High Achievement through 2017.)
317-940-6552
rejones@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

Percussion

Jon Crabiel - Artist-in-Residence, Percussion, Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Ensemble
317-940-9488
jcrabiel@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Craig Hetrick - Instructor of Percussion
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9488
crhetrick@yahoo.com
 

Jeff Queen - Instructor of Percussion
317-940-9488
jqueen@butler.edu

Strings

Dr. Davis Brooks - Professor Emeritus, Violin
Associate Concertmaster, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9634 
dbrooks@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Lisa Brooks - Professor, Violin, Dean, Jordan College of the Arts
Principal Second Violin, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8652
lbrooks@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Richard Auldon Clark - Professor, Viola, Director of Orchestral Studies, Butler Symphony Orchestra
317-940-8031
rclark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. William Grubb - Associate Professor, Cello
317-940-6418
wgrubb@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Ju-Fang Liu - Instructor of Double Bass
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9246
jliu4@butler.edu
View Bio

 

David Murray - Director of School of Music, Professor, Double Bass, Coordinator of Strings, 
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8404
dmurray@butler.edu
View Bio

Wendy Muston - Instructor of Harp
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9079
wmuston@butler.edu
View Bio

Larry Shapiro - Professor, Violin, Artist-in-Residence
Concertmaster, Carmel Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9648
lshapiro@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Brett Terrell - Instructor of Guitar
317-940-9287
bterrell@butler.edu
View Bio

Voice/Opera

Dr. Thaddaeus (T.J.) Bourne - Instructor of Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Diction
317-940-9058
tbourne@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

James Caraher - Butler Opera Theatre
317-940-9246
music@butler.edu

 

 

Kirsten Gunlogson - Visiting Associate Professor of Voice
contact information coming soon
kgunlogs@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Kathie Kelton - Associate Professor, Voice
317-940-9217
kkelton@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Steven Rickards - Instructor of Voice
317-940-6048
srickard@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Michael Sells - Professor Emeritus, Vocal Literature
317-940-9246
msells@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Oliver Worthington - Assistant Professor of Voice, Director of Butler Opera Theatre
317-940-4247
oworthin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Dana Zenobi - Instructor of Voice
317-940-9635
dzenobi@butler.edu

View Bio

 

Woodwinds

Pam Ajango - Instructor of Oboe, Coordinator of Woodwinds
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8694
pfrench@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Trina Gross - Instructor of Clarinet
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9631
cagross@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Michele Gingras - Instructor of Clarinet
mgingras@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Karen Moratz - Artist-in-Residence, Flute
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9632
kmoratz@butler.edu
View Bio
 

Heidi Radtke - Instructor of Saxophone, Director of the Arthur Jordan Saxophone Quartet
317-940-6216
hradtke@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Douglas Spaniol - Professor, Bassoon, Chair of the School of Music, Assistant Director for Events and Recruitment
317-940-8368
dspaniol@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Ensemble Directors

Instrumental

Butler University Wind Ensemble 

Michael J. Colburn
317-940-6672
mcolburn@butler.edu
LH 154

 

Butler University Symphonic Band 

Matt Smith
317-940-9876
mjsmith3@butler.edu
LH 018

Brian Weidner
317-940-6115
bweidner@butler.edu
LH 216

 

Butler Symphony Orchestra 

Richard Auldon Clark
317-940-8031
rclark@butler.edu
LH 157

 

Jazz Ensemble

Matt Pivec
317-940-9068
mpivec@butler.edu
LH 246

 
Vocal

Butler Chorale

Eric Stark
317-940-9981
estark@butler.edu
LH 238

University Choir

John Perkins
317-940-9636
jdperkin@butler.edu
LH 244

Jordan Jazz

Erin Benedict
ebenedic@butler.edu
LH 212

Chamber Singers

Eric Stark
317-940-9981
estark@butler.edu
LH 238

 
Athletic Bands

Basketball Band/Pep Band and Marching Band

Matt Smith
317-940-9876
mjsmith3@butler.edu
LH 018

Emeriti Faculty

Peter Alexander, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Daniel Bolin, Professor of music

James Briscoe, Professor of music

Davis Brooks, Professor of music

Louis Chenette, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Stanley DeRusha, Professor of music

Jack Eaton, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Stephen Glover, Associate Professor of music

Robert Grechesky, Professor of music

Henry Leck, Associate Professor of music

Richard Osborne, Professor of music

Mary Anne Scott, Professor of music

Sharon Searles, Professor of music

Michael Sells, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Wayne Wentzel, Professor of Music