Skip to main content
School of Music

Music Faculty & Staff

Administration

Dr. Douglas Spaniol - Professor, Bassoon, Chair of the School of Music
317-940-9988
dspaniol@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

David Murray - Professor, Assistant Chair of the School of Music, Director of Graduate Studies, Double Bass, Coordinator of Strings
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9064
dmurray@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Courtney Trachsel - Outreach and Recruitment
317-940-9065
ctrachse@butler.edu
 

Joy L Rogers - Administrative Assistant
317-940-9246
jlroger1@butler.edu
 

 

 

Vonna Knapp - Administrative Assistant, Budget Director 
317-940-9996
vknapp@butler.edu
 

 

 

 

Arts Administration

Brenda Lee Johnston - Assistant Professor, Arts Administration
317-940-6043
bljohnst@butler.edu
 

Susan Zurbuchen - Director of the Arts Administration Program
317-940-9463
szurbuch@butler.edu

Brass

Michael J. Colburn - Professor, Euphonium, Director of Bands, Wind Ensemble
317-940-6672
mcolburn@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Gail Lewis - Associate Professor, Horn, Coordinator of Brass, Music Theory
317-940-8369
glewis@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Richard Graef - Visiting Instructor of Horn
Assistant Principal Horn, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
rgraef@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Allen Miller - Instructor of Trumpet
317-940-3056
admiller@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Jared Rodin - Instructor of Trombone
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-3056
jrodin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Melissa Williams - Instructor of Tuba/Low Brass
317-940-3055
mmwilli1@butler.edu
View Bio

Composition

Dr. Frank Felice - Associate Professor, Composition, Electronic Music
317-940-3236
ffelice@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

James Q. Mulholland - Professor, Composition
317-940-9541
jmulholl@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Michael Schelle - Professor, Composition, Artist-in-Residence, Coordinator of Composition
317-940-9642
mschelle@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Conducting

Richard Auldon Clark - Professor, Director of Orchestral Studies, Butler Symphony Orchestra, Viola
317-940-8031
rclark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Michael J. Colburn - Professor, Director of Bands, Wind Ensemble, Euphonium
317-940-6672
mcolburn@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. John Perkins - Assistant Professor, Associate Director of Choral Activities, University Choir, Spectra (formerly Women's Chorus)
317-940-9636
jdperkin@butler.edu

View Bio

 

 

Dr. Eric Stark - Professor, Director of Choral Activities, Butler Chorale
317-940-9981
estark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

 

Jazz Studies

Dr. Matt Pivec - Associate Professor, Director of Jazz Studies, Jazz Ensemble, Saxophone
317-940-9068
mpivec@butler.edu
View Bio

Erin Benedict - Instructor of Jazz Voice, Jordan Jazz
ebenedic@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Jon Crabiel - Artist-in-Residence, Percussion, Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Ensemble
317-940-9488
jcrabiel@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Richard Dole - Instructor of Jazz Trombone
rdole@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Sean Imboden - Instructor of Jazz Saxophone
simboden@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Kenny Phelps - Instructor of Jazz Drums
View Bio

 

 

 

Dr. Jen Siukola - Instructor of Jazz Trumpet
jsiukola@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Gary Walters - Instructor of Jazz Piano
317-940-9060
gwalters@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Sandy Williams - Instructor of Jazz Guitar
317-940-9246
awwillia@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Jesse Wittman - Instructor of Jazz Bass
317-940-9246
jwittman@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Piano/Keyboard

Dr. Kate Boyd - Associate Professor, Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Studies
317-940-9709
kboyd@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Catherine Bringerud - Coordinator of Accompanying
317-940-8700
cbringer@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Anna Briscoe - Instructor of Piano
317-940-9647
abriscoe@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Amy Chee - Instructor of Keyboard Skills
aschindl@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Thomas Gerber - Instructor of Harpsichord
Member, Indianapolis Baroque Orchestra
tgerber@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Heather Hinton - Instructor of Organ
hfowler@butler.edu 
View Bio

 

 

Jenny Mobley - Instructor of Piano, Coordinator of Keyboard Skills
317-940-9212
jmobley@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

D.J. Smith - Instructor of Piano, Keyboard Skills
317-940-8714
djsmith1@butler.edu
View Bio
 

Karen Thickstun - Instructor of Piano, Piano Pedagogy, Director of the Butler Community Arts School
317-940-5500
kthickst@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Gary Walters - Instructor of Jazz Piano
317-940-9060
gwalters@butler.edu
View Bio

Music Education

Dr. Daniel Bolin - Professor Emeritus, Music Education
dbolin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Timothy Brimmer - Professor, Music Education, Music Technology, Director of the Multisensory Learning Facility
317-940-9641
tbrimmer@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Penny Dimmick - Professor, Music Education, Coordinator of Music Education
317-940-6422 
pdimmick@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Becky Marsh - Assistant Professor, Music Education- Choral
View Bio-- coming soon

 

 

 

Brian Weidner - Assistant Professor, Music Education- Instrumental
bweidner@butler.edu
View Bio-- coming soon

 

 

John Hilmer - Instructor of Music Education
jhilmer@butler.edu 
View Bio

Elizabeth Levin - Instructor of Music Education
View Bio

Catherine Radomski - Instructor of Music Education
View Bio

Music History/Music Theory

Dr. Clare Carrasco - Assistant Professor, Music History
ccarrasc@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Sally Childs-Helton - Instructor of World Music
317-940-9265
schildsh@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Andrew Farina - Visiting Assistant Professor, Music Theory
317-940-8806
afarina@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Jeffrey Gillespie - Professor, Music Theory, Coordinator of Music Theory
317-940-6416
jgillesp@butler.edu
View Bio
 

 

Dr. Nicholas Johnson - Assistant Professor, Music History, Coordinator of Music History
317-940-9256
ndjohns1@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Rusty Jones - Associate Professor, Music Theory
(Teaching in JCA on a limited capacity while serving as the Faculty Director of the Center for High Achievement through 2017.)
317-940-6552
rejones@butler.edu
View Bio

Christy Keele - Instructor of Music Theory
ckeele@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Katrina Roush - Instructor of Music Theory
kdroush@butler.edu
View Bio

Percussion

Jon Crabiel - Artist-in-Residence, Percussion, Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Ensemble
317-940-9488
jcrabiel@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Craig Hetrick - Instructor of Percussion
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9488
crhetrick@yahoo.com
 

Jeff Queen - Instructor of Percussion
317-940-9488
jqueen@butler.edu

Strings

Dr. Davis Brooks - Professor Emeritus, Violin
Associate Concertmaster, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9634 
dbrooks@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Lisa Brooks - Professor, Violin; Dean, Jordan College of the Arts
Principal Second Violin, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8652
lbrooks@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Richard Auldon Clark - Professor, Viola, Director of Orchestral Studies, Butler Symphony Orchestra
317-940-8031
rclark@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Zachary DePue - Instructor of Violin
Concertmaster, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
music@butler.edu

 

 

Dr. William Grubb - Associate Professor, Cello
317-940-6418
wgrubb@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Ju-Fang Liu - Instructor of Double Bass
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9246
jliu4@butler.edu
View Bio

 

David Murray - Professor, Double Bass, Coordinator of Strings, Assistant Chair of the School of Music, Director of Graduate Music Studies
Principal Double Bass, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8404
dmurray@butler.edu
View Bio
 

Wendy Muston - Instructor of Harp
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-9079
wmuston@butler.edu
View Bio

Larry Shapiro - Professor, Violin, Artist-in-Residence
Concertmaster, Carmel Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9648
lshapiro@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Brett Terrell - Instructor of Guitar
317-940-9287
bterrell@butler.edu
View Bio

Voice/Opera

Thaddaeus (T.J.) Bourne - Instructor of Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Diction
317-940-9058
tbourne@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

James Caraher - Director of Butler Opera Theatre
317-940-9246
music@butler.edu

 

 

Kirsten Gunlogson - Visiting Associate Professor of Voice
contact information coming soon
kgunlogs@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Diana Huntoon - Instructor of Voice
contact information coming soon
View Bio

 

Dr. Kathie Kelton - Associate Professor, Voice
317-940-9217
kkelton@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Steven Rickards - Instructor of Voice
317-940-6048
srickard@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Michael Sells - Professor Emeritus, Vocal Literature
317-940-9246
msells@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Dr. Oliver Worthington - Assistant Professor of Voice
317-940-4247
oworthin@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Angela Brown - Visiting Guest Artist
317-940-9246
music@butler.edu
 

 

 

Dana Zenobi - Instructor of Voice

View Bio-- coming soon

 

Woodwinds

Pam Ajango - Instructor of Oboe, Coordinator of Woodwinds
Member, Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
317-940-8694
pfrench@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Trina Gross - Instructor of Clarinet
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9631
cagross@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Michele Gingras - Instructor of Clarinet
mgingras@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Karen Moratz - Artist-in-Residence, Flute
Member, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
317-940-9632
kmoratz@butler.edu
View Bio
 

Heidi Radtke - Instructor of Saxophone, Director of the Arthur Jordan Saxophone Quartet
317-940-6216
hradtke@butler.edu
View Bio

 

 

Dr. Douglas Spaniol - Professor, Bassoon, Chair of the School of Music
317-940-8368
dspaniol@butler.edu
View Bio

 

Emeriti Faculty

Peter Alexander, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Daniel Bolin, Professor of music

James Briscoe, Professor of music

Davis Brooks, Professor of music

Louis Chenette, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Stanley DeRusha, Professor of music

Jack Eaton, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Stephen Glover, Associate Professor of music

Robert Grechesky, Professor of music

Henry Leck, Associate Professor of music

Richard Osborne, Professor of music

Mary Anne Scott, Professor of music

Sharon Searles, Professor of music

Michael Sells, Professor of music and former Dean of the Jordan College of Fine Arts

Wayne Wentzel, Professor of Music