Recognition & Scholarships

The faculty and staff of the Department of Psychology have several ways to honor distinguished majors. There are a variety of scholarships and awards available, both as first year students and as upper class students. In addition, majors and minors who meet the qualifications can elect to join Butler’s chapter of Psi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology.

Psi Chi

Psi Chi is the National Honor Society in Psychology. The Society was founded in 1929 for the purpose of promoting excellence in scholarship and advancing the science of psychology. Membership in a chapter of Psi Chi provides national recognition for academic excellence in psychology, an honor that can be noted on employment applications, vitae, and resumes. Members of Psi Chi can compete for 95 annual research awards and grants and are eligible to wear honor cords at graduation.

The Butler University chapter of Psi Chi was installed on April 23, 1997. Membership is open to juniors and seniors who meet academic requirements. The Psi Chi chapter at Butler sponsors several activities each year. In the past few years, the Psi Chi chapter has sponsored various academic programs and speakers, Psych Connection (a mentoring program), and the annual end-of-year psychology gathering.

The Butler Chapter of Psi Chi received the Model Chapter Award from the National Psi Chi office in 2001, 2005, and 2006. In addition, several members of our chapter have won awards. Megan Julian ’06 won an NSF/REU grant for 2005–2006; Megan Mull ’07 won an undergraduate research grant for 2006–2007; and Dr. Morris won a faculty adviser research grant for 2006–2007.

Seitz Award

The Seitz Award is designed to financially assist Natural Science students who desire to study science and conduct research abroad, outside the normal academic classroom setting. All students with sophomore or junior status majoring in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics are eligible to apply. Sophomore and junior majors in Psychology, studying Physiological or Cognitive/Neuropsychology, or in Anthropology, studying Biological Anthropology, Primatology or Archaeology, are also eligible to apply. Learn more about the award and past recipients.

Merit Awards

Psychology majors are also eligible for several merit awards. These awards are given annually, based on a vote of the Psychology Faculty. In the past, we have given the following awards:

The Sally Bell Beck Award: Given to the senior who best exemplifies dedication to a career as a professional psychologist.

The Montgomery Fellowship for Exceptional Contributions to Psychology: Given to the senior who has best embodied the spirit of service through contributions to the department. The awardee typically has worked for the department, served as a tutor, been active in student organizations and conducted research with a faculty supervisor.

The Edgar Lee Yeager Memorial Award: Dedicated to the memory of Professor Yeager, a faculty member in the department between 1959 and 1975. This award is given to the student whose behavior exemplifies high moral values, demonstrates an appreciation of his/her responsibility to others, and continues the tradition of academic and scholarly excellence that Professor Yeager represented.

The Christy Excellence in Psychology Scholarship:  This award is given to a junior or senior psychology major from Indiana.  The scholarship recognizes a student who demonstrates outstanding achievement in psychology courses and who expands his or her learning through involvement in research and/or internships.

The Stuart Research Fellowship: This is a travel grant awarded to a student with junior standing. Students must apply for this fellowship by submitting a research proposal. The award supports the presentations of the student’s research results at a national or regional professional conference, typically during the student’s senior year.

The Burrton Woodruff Award: Recognizes a psychology major who by action or personal example promotes multiculturalism at Butler University.

The Burrton Woodruff Undergraduate Research Award: Given annually to rising juniors and/or seniors in the Department of Psychology who are engaged in research projects demonstrating excellence in methodology, research design, or statistical analysis. Preference will be given to students with approved honors thesis projects, but the research of other strong psychology students may also be supported from these funds. Read about the 2022 award winner, Abey Akinseye.