Political Science Student Awards

Each spring the Department of Political Science honors its outstanding students with departmental awards. We invite others to join us in celebrating their achievements.


Presented to the graduating student with the top scholastic record, considering both grade point average and challenge of academic pursuits.

  • 2023: Tarryn Harris, Ethan Shopmeyer, Isabel Thornton, Sam Zechiel
  • 2022: Raziya Hillery, Emma VanDerHeyden

Given to a political science major or minor who has demonstrated outstanding political leadership while at Butler.

  • 2023: Alex Stencel
  • 2022: Amandeep Kaur, Jack Pitchford

Presented to an outstanding political science major who has integrated academic excellence with service to the community.

  • 2023: Leah Bechtold
  • 2022: Shelby Mohr, Emma Whitfield

Presented to students who, like Dr. Craig Auchter, have a passion for global justice that will serve to shape the work they will go on to do in the world.

  • 2023: Tarryn Harris
  • 2022: Grace Jackson, Hannah Love

Presented to students who evince through their practices the inextricable bond between ethics and politics by their commitment to citizenship, community, and service to others.

  • 2023: Ethan Shopmeyer
  • 2022: Blair Hackett, Maya Peterson-Womack

Presented to students who, like Dr. David Mason, understand the power of persuasion of the written word and who have future promise as scholar-activists.

  • 2023: Yossra Daiy
  • 2022: Anna Faulkner, Samantha Zechiel


Given to students who demonstrate commitment to peace and social justice through involvement in such organizations on and off campus.

  • 2022: Kenya Bustos Diaz