History, Anthropology, and Classics Student Awards

Each spring the Department of History, Anthropology, and Classics honors its outstanding students with departmental awards. We invite others to join us in celebrating their achievements.


Presented in honor of Professor Emeritus Emma Lou Thornbrough who was a pioneer in African American history, to students for their outstanding work toward advancing the Butler University founding values of diversity, equity, and inclusivity.

  • 2023: Emma Gifford, Leah Ollie
  • 2022: Cameron Ellision, Eduardo Gonzalez Sanchez

Recognizes students for outstanding achievements in anthropology.

  • 2023: Rose Desrochers-Hawkins
  • 2022: Emma Thom

Presented to students in anthropology who have demonstrated excellence in original field research.

  • 2023: Caitlin McEvoy
  • 2022: Kynnedy Masheck, Emily Paff

Recognizes the excellence, commitment, and promise of a student new to the field of anthropology.

  • 2023: Elise Davidson
  • 2022: Evelyn Stewart, Meghan Vibbert

Presented to an outstanding continuing student majoring in the field of U.S. history from the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Indiana.

  • 2023: Emma Gifford
  • 2022: Elly Fieffer

Honors the students studying history with the top scholastic records.

  • 2023: Cole Eder, Lauren Jindrich, Renee Rogers, Andrew Steele
  • 2022: Carly Collins, Sophia Estes, Karlye Sopczak, Aidan Strauss

Awarded for excellence in the study of history.

  • 2023: Pierce Greer
  • 2022: Sami Slentz

Awarded to students who have demonstrated high academic achievement in the study of history.

  • 2023: Abby Retz
  • 2022: Cole Eder


Awarded to students who demonstrate superior performance overall, particularly in the field of history.

  • 2023: Maya Sharon, Makenna Territo
  • 2022: Cassidy Paulk, Abby Retz

Recognizes outstanding academic achievement.

  • 2023: Cole Eder
  • 2022: Alex Brinkman

Given to students who have completed at least two years in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or the Lacy School of Business and who have demonstrated leadership, service, and academic achievement in the named area.

  • 2022: Sophie Graham – Classics, Abby Retz – Anthropology
  • 2022: Caitlin McEvoy – Anthropology

In honor of Professor Emeritus Scott Swanson, recognizes a student who has pursued curiosity in their studies, not limited by time or space.

  • 2023: Kayla Miller
  • 2022: Emma Gifford

In honor of Professor Emeritus of Geography Bruce Bigelow, recognizes a student for outstanding work in the ways that culture and place shape our lives.

  • 2023: Rachel Sudbeck
  • 2022: Ericela Sahagun

In honor of Professor Emeritus George Geib, recognizes students for outstanding work in history that contributes to local or regional histories and public history projects.

  • 2023: Cole Himmelheber, Kiana Johnson
  • 2022: Pierce Greer

In honor of Professor Antwain Hunter, recognizes student(s) for department service and contribution to community.

  • 2023: Aidan Gregg, Natalie Long

In honor of Professor Emeritus Paul Hanson, recognizes a student for excellence in the study of History.

  • 2023: Spencer Lewis