Professor David MurrayDavid Murray

Director of School of Music, Professor of Bass

dmurray@butler.edu317-940-9246

Learn more about Professor David Murray.

Dr. Nick Johnson, Associate Director for Graduate Studies, Associate Professor of MusicologyNicholas Johnson

Associate Director for Graduate Studies, Coordinator of Musicology, Associate Professor of Musicology

ndjohns1@butler.edu | 317-940-9256

Learn more about Dr. Nick Johnson.

Dr. Penny DimmickPenny Dimmick

Associate Director for Undergraduate Studies, Coordinator of Music Education, Professor of Music Education

pdimmick@butler.edu | 317-940-6422

Learn more about Dr. Penny Dimmick.

Dr. Matt PivecMatt Pivec

Assistant Director for Curriculum, Assessment, and Faculty Affairs, Director of Jazz Studies, Professor of Jazz Saxophone

mpivec@butler.edu | 317-940-9068

Learn more about Dr. Matt Pivec.

Joy Rogers

Administrative Assistant

jlroger1@butler.edu | music@butler.edu | 317-940-9246

 

Courtney TrachselCourtney Trachsel

Coordinator of Outreach and Recruitment

ctrachse@butler.edu | music@butler.edu | 317-940-9065

 

Melinda Kennett

Budget Officer

mkennett1@butler.edu | 317-940-9996

Horn

Dr. Gail LewisGail Lewis

Coordinator of Brass, Associate Professor of Horn

glewis@butler.edu | 317-940-8369

Learn more about Dr. Gail Lewis.

Trombone

Professor Jared RodinJared Rodin

Instructor of Trombone

jrodin@butler.edu | 317-940-3056

Learn more about Professor Jared Rodin.

Trumpet

Professor Allen MillerAllen Miller

Instructor of Trumpet

admiller@butler.edu | 317-340-7563

Learn more about Professor Allen Miller.

Tuba/Euphonium

Professor Tony KniffenTony Kniffen

Instructor of Tuba and Euphonium

akniffen@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Tony Kniffen.

 

Dr. Michael SchelleMichael Schelle

Professor of Music Composition

mschelle@butler.edu | 317-940-9642

Learn more about Dr. Michael Schelle.

Dr. Frank FeliceFrank Felice

Associate Professor of Music Composition

ffelice@butler.edu | 317-940-3236

Learn more about Dr. Frank Felice.

Trae Blanco

Director of Bands

tblanco@butler.edu | 317-940-6672

Learn more about Dr. Trae Blanco.

 

 

 

Professor Richard Auldon ClarkRichard Auldon Clark

Director of Butler Symphony Orchestra, Professor of Viola

rclark@butler.edu | 317-940-8031

Learn more about Professor Richard Clark.

 

 

 

Professor Melissa JohnsonMelissa Johnson

Director of Athletic Bands

mfjohns1@butler.edu | 317-940-9876

Learn more about Professor Melissa Johnson.

 

 

 

Dr. John PerkinsJohn Perkins

Associate Director of Choral Studies, Associate Professor of Music

jdperkin@butler.edu | 317-940-9636

Learn more about Dr. John Perkins.

 

Dr. Eric StarkEric Stark

Director of Choral Studies, Professor Music

estark@butler.edu | 317-940-9981

Learn more about Dr. Eric Stark.

Dr. Matt PivecMatt Pivec

Director of Jazz Studies, Assistant Director of the School of Music, Professor of Jazz Saxophone, Director of Jazz Ensemble

mpivec@butler.edu | 317-940-9068

Learn more about Dr. Matt Pivec.

Professor Erin BenedictErin Benedict

Instructor of Vocal Jazz, Director of Jordan Jazz

ebenedic@butler.edu | 317-590-9085

Learn more about Professor Erin Benedict.

Professor Jon CrabielJon Crabiel

Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Artist-in-Residence, Director of Percussion Ensemble

jcrabiel@butler.edu | 317-940-9488

Learn more about Professor Jon Crabiel.

 

 

 

Professor Richard DoleRichard Dole

Instructor of Jazz Trombone

rdole@butler.edu | 317-513-2468

Learn more about Professor Rich Dole.

Professor Kent HickeyKent Hickey

Instructor of Jazz Trumpet

kahick1@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Kent Hickey.

Professor Sean ImbodenSean Imboden

Instructor of Jazz Combos, Instructor of Jazz Saxophone

simboden@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Sean Imboden.

 

 

 

Professor Alexander (Sandy) WilliamsAlexander (Sandy) Williams

Instructor of Jazz Saxophone

awwillia@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Sandy Williams.

 

 

 

Professor Jesse WittmanJesse Wittman

Instructor of Jazz Bass

jwittman@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Jesse Wittman.

Dr. Penny DimmickPenny Dimmick

Coordinator of Music Education, Associate Director for Undergraduate Studies, Professor of Music Education

pdimmick@butler.edu | 317-940-6422

Learn more about Dr. Penny Dimmick.

Dr. Becky MarshBecky Marsh

Assistant Professor of Choral Music Education

bmarsh1@butler.edu | 317-940-6898

Learn more about Dr. Becky Marsh.

Brian Weidner

Assistant Professor of Instrumental Music Education

bweidner@butler.edu | 317-940-6115

Learn more about Dr. Brian Weidner.

Professor Lori Honer, Instructor of Cello at Butler University playing the celloLori Honer

Instructor of String Techniques

lkhoner@butler.edu

Dr. Nicholas JohnsonNicholas Johnson

Coordinator of Musicology, Associate Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Musicology

ndjohns1@butler.edu | 317-940-9065

Learn more about Dr. Nick Johnson.

Dr. Sophie BennSophie Benn

Assistant Professor of Musicology

sbenn@butler.edu | 317-940-8500

Learn more about Dr. Sophie Benn.

Dr. Miriam EscuderoMiriam Escudero

Instructor of Music

mescudero@butler.edu | 317-940-9217

Learn more about Dr. Miriam Escudero.

Professor Manon VoiceManon Voice

Instructor of Music

mvoice@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Manon Voice.

Jeffrey Gillespie

Coordinator of Music Theory, Professor of Music Theory

jgillesp@butler.edu | 317-940-6416

Learn more about Dr. Jeff Gillespie.

Dr. Rusty JonesRusty Jones

Associate Professor of Music Theory

rejones@butler.edu | 317-940-8806

Learn more about Dr. Rusty Jones.

William Trachsel

Instructor of Music Theory

wtrachse@butler.edu

Zach Zinser

Instructor of Music Theory

zzinser@butler.edu

 

Professor Jon CrabielJon Crabiel

Coordinator of Percussion, Percussion Artist-in-Residence, Director of Percussion Ensemble

jcrabiel@butler.edu | 317-940-9488

Learn more about Professor Jon Crabiel.

 

 

 

Professor Craig HetrickCraig Hetrick

Instructor of Percussion

crhetrick@yahoo.com | 317-940-9488

Learn more about Professor Craig Hetrick.

Johnny Lee Lane

Instructor of Percussion

jllane@butler.edu

Dr. Kate BoydKate Boyd

Coordinator of Piano, Professor of Piano

kboyd@butler.edu | 317-940-9709

Learn more about Dr. Kate Boyd.

Amanda Hopson

Coordinator of Collaborative Piano, Instructor of Collaborative Piano

ahopson@butler.edu | 317-940-8700

Professor DJ SmithDJ Smith

Coordinator of Keyboard Skills, Instructor of Keyboard Skills

djsmith1@butler.edu | 317-940-8714

Learn more about Professor DJ Smith.

Heather Hinton

Instructor of Organ

hfowler@butler.edu

Michael Scherperel

Staff Pianist

mscherpe@butler.edu

Li-Wen Weng

Staff Pianist

Bass

Professor David MurrayDavid Murray

Coordinator of Strings, Professor of Bass, Director of School of Music

dmurray@butler.edu | 317-940-9246

Learn more about Professor David Murray.

Dr. Ju Fang-Liu Ju-Fang Liu

Instructor of Bass

jliu4@butler.edu

 

Cello

Professor William GrubbWilliam Grubb

Associate Professor of Cello

wgrubb@butler.edu | 317-940-6418

Learn more about Dr. Bill Grubb.

Viola

Professor Richard Auldon ClarkRichard Auldon Clark

Director of Butler Symphony Orchestra, Professor of Viola

rclark@butler.edu | 317-940-8031

Read more about Professor Richard Clark.

Violin

Dr. Mélanie Clapiès holding her violin.

Mélanie Clapiès

Assistant Professor of Violin

mclapies@butler.edu | 475-227-9208

Learn more about Dr. Mélanie Clapiès.

Dean Lisa BrooksLisa Brooks

Professor of Violin, Dean of Jordan College of the Arts

lbrooks@butler.edu | 317-940-8652

Learn more about Dr. Lisa Brooks.

Kevin Lin, concertmaster for the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra playing his violinKevin Lin

Instructor of Violin

klin@butler.edu

 

Harpsichord

Thomas Gerber

Instructor of Harpsichord

Harp

Professor Wendy MustonWendy Muston

Instructor of Harp

wmuston@butler.edu | 317-940-9065

 

Classical Guitar

Brett Terrell

Instructor of Guitar

bterrell@butler.edu

Dr. Oliver WorthingtonOliver Worthington

Coordinator of Voice, Assistant Professor of Voice, Director of Butler Opera Theatre

oworthin@butler.edu | 317-940-4247

Learn more about Dr. Oliver Worthington.

Dr. Laura StormLaura Storm

Lecturer of Voice

lastorm@butler.edu | 317-940-9541

Learn more about Dr. Laura Storm.

Dr. Dana ZenobiDana Zenobi

Assistant Professor of Voice

dzenobi@butler.edu | 317-940-9635

Learn more about Dr. Dana Zenobi.

Professor Kirsten GunlogsonKirsten Gunlogson

Instructor of Voice

kgunlogs@butler.edu | 317-940-6048

Learn more about Professor Kirsten Gunlogson.

Dr. Jillian Harrison-JonesJillian Harrison-Jones

Instructor of Voice

jnicholsondicks@butler.edu

Learn more about Dr. Jillian Harrison-Jones.

Dr. Steven RickardsSteven Rickards

Instructor of Voice

srickard@butler.edu

Learn more about Dr. Steven Rickards.

Professor Jeremiah SandersJeremiah Sanders

Instructor of Voice

jsander3@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Jeremiah Sanders.

Bassoon

Dr. Douglas SpaniolDoug Spaniol

Coordinator of Woodwinds, Professor of Bassoon, Associate Dean of Jordan College of the Arts

dspaniol@butler.edu | 317-940-8368

Learn more about Dr. Doug Spaniol.

Clarinet

Professor Michele GingrasMichele Gingras

Instructor of Clarinet

mgingras@butler.edu | 317-763-0277

Learn more about Professor Michele Gingras.

Professor Trina GrossCathryn (Trina) Gross

Instructor of Clarinet

cagross@butler.edu | 317-985-5219

Learn more about Professor Trina Gross.

Flute/Piccolo

Becky Arrensen

Instructor of Flute and Piccolo

barrensen@butler.edu

Learn more about Professor Becky Arrensen.

Professor Karen MoratzKaren Moratz

Instructor of Flute

kmoratz@butler.edu | 317-940-6064

Learn more about Professor Karen Moratz.

Oboe

Professor Pam AjangoPam Ajango

Instructor of Oboe

pajango@butler.edu | 317-940-8694

Learn more about Professor Pam Ajango.

Saxophone

Professor Phil PierickPhil Pierick

Instructor of Saxophone

ppierick@butler.edu | 317-940-6216

Learn more about Professor Phil Pierick.

Dr. Davis Brooks

Instructor of Violin, Professor Emeritus

Professor Larry Shapiro

Instructor of Violin, Professor Emeritus