Skip to main content
Campus Aerial

About the Biology Department

A student preparing microbiological cultures Students running a booth at a science fair
Biology students working with microscopes Students listening to an instructor in a wooded area

Follow Butler Biological Sciences on Social Media

twitter icon facebook icon

Departmental Awards

Butler University Biology Department Faculty Member of the Year

Voted by Students and Awarded by the Butler University Biology Club

2018: Dr. Phil Villani

2017: Dr. Mike Trombley

Outstanding Senior Award

2019: Darby DeFord, Taylor Prechtel, David Ryskamp

2018: Caitlyn Foye, Jacob Reeves

2017: Olivia Crowe, Victoria Kreyden, Tyler Schenck

2016: Amber Kline

2015: Adam Beswick, Shataakshi Dube

2014: Loor Alshawa, Bryce Fawcett, Nicole Larsen

2013: Allen Meyers, Karissa Miller

2012: Rachel Heck, Sarah Strobl, Peter Winter

2011: Collin Bowman, Christopher Jernigan, Tyler Hoskins

Endowed Scholarships

2019 Potzger Scholarship: no recipient selected
2019 Church Scholarship: Kara Stark
2019 Weiss Scholarship: Jenna Nosek

2018 Potzger Scholarship: Hannah Sonner
2018 Church Scholarship: Abby Hillan
2018 Weiss Scholarship: Jeremey Caylor

2017 Potzger Scholarship: Natalie VanOchten
2017 Church Scholarship: Caitlyn Foye
2017 Weiss Scholarship: Jacob Ryskamp

CUE Pelton Award

2019: Cindy Cifuentes

2018: Jacob Reeves

2017: Gabby Vinyard

Hendricks Fellowship

2019: Cindy Cifuentes, Evynn Davis, Jake Gerard

2018: Megan Schroeder

2017: Jacob Reeves

Emeritus Faculty Awards

2019 Dr. Thomas Dolan: Maham Nadeem
2019 Dr. Michael S. Maloney: Jeremy Caylor
2019 Dr. James Shellhaas: Hannah Sonner

2018 Dr. Thomas Dolan: Colton Junod
2018 Dr. Michael S. Maloney: David Emch
2018 Dr. James Shellhaas: Natalie Van Ochten

2017 Dr. Michael S. Maloney: Ashley Kline
2017 Dr. Richard W. Miller: Shelby Miller
2017 Dr. Stephen A. Perrill: Lauryn Campagnoli
2017 Dr. James Shellhaas: Courtney Buchholz

Excellence in the Biological Sciences

2019: Lauren Ciulla, Blakely Heaton, Spencer Lang, Becca Lewis, Abdul Saltagi

2018: Isaac Gluesenkamp, Jessica Lee, Kelsey McDougal, Shelby Swihart, Jill Yager

2017: Kurt Corsbie, Tyler Hudgens, Johanna Johnson, Cutter Koehler, Clayton Taylor