Skip to main content
LAS Background
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Phi Beta Kappa

PBK KeyThe Phi Beta Kappa Society installed its Theta of Indiana Chapter at Butler University on Feb. 4, 2010, making Butler one of only 280 universities nationwide to host a chapter of the country's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society. Read more about the installation ceremony.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. by five students. Phi Beta Kappa has for more than two centuries fostered the principles of freedom of inquiry and freedom of thought and expression. These ideas, symbolized on the society's distinctive gold key, promote the foundation of personal freedom, scientific inquiry, liberty of conscience, and creative endeavor. The letters Phi Beta Kappa (ΦβΚ) represent the Greek initials of the society's motto: "Love of learning is the guide of life."

Only about 10 percent of colleges and universities in the United States have been approved to shelter chapters of Phi Beta Kappa. Only eight colleges and universities in the State of Indiana are home to Phi Beta Kappa chapters.

Membership in Phi Beta Kappa is for life. Invitation to membership is a significant academic honor. Acceptance of that invitation reflects a commitment to the liberal arts and sciences and to freedom of inquiry and expression.

Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars 2015–2016

David CampbellDavid Campbell

FPU and the Birth of Experimental Mathematics

April 7, 7:30 PM

Pharmacy & Health Sciences Building, Room 150
Sponsored by Phi Beta Kappa, Theta of Indiana Chapter.
Co-sponsored by the Center for High Achievement and Scholarly Engagement and the J. James Woods Lecture Series in the Sciences and Mathematics.

An international leader in the field of nonlinear science, David Campbell is Professor of Physics, Electrical, and Computer Engineering and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Boston University. He co-founded and directed the Center for Nonlinear Studies at Los Alamos National Laboratory. A fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Physical Society (APS), he is co-recipient of the 2010 APS Lilienfeld Prize for “pioneering new approaches to the study of complex systems...and for communicating the excitement of this new field to diverse audiences.”

Find accessibility information or request disability-related ​accommodations