Skip to main content

Error message

Notice: Undefined index: bundle in fieldable_panels_panes_load_from_subtype() (line 995 of /var/www/html/sites/all/modules/contrib/fieldable_panels_panes/fieldable_panels_panes.module).
Office of Admission

English Proficiency Requirements

Applicants must meet a minimum level of proficiency in the English language and submit proof of this proficiency to the Office of Admission. Minimum proficiency can be met by any of the following exams or testing systems:

  • Duolingo: A score of 100 is required to meet Butler University's requirements.
  • Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL): A score of 550 (paper-based test) or 79 (internet-based test) meets Butler University's English language proficiency requirements. Butler's TOEFL school code is 1073. 
  • Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT): International students are required to submit SAT scores if they wish to compete in NCAA athletics; all others are strongly encouraged to submit their scores. For the SAT, an Evidence-Based Reading and Writing score of 500 meets Butler's English proficiency requirements. Butler's SAT school code is 1073. 
  • American College Test (ACT): An English score of 19 meets Butler's requirements. Butler's ACT school code is 1180.
  • Michigan English Language Assessment Battery (MELAB): A score of 80 meets Butler's requirements. 
  • Michigan English Test (MET): A score of 55 meets Butler's requirements.
  • International English Language Training System (IELTS): A score of 6.0 meets Butler's requirements. 
  • London/Cambridge General Certificate Of Education (GCE)/General Certificate Of Secondary Education (GCSE): A grade of A or B in English meets Butler's requirements.
  • International Baccalaureate (IB): A score of 5-7 or grade of A or B on HL English meets Butler's requirements.
  • PTE Academic (PTEA): A score of 53 meets Butler's requirements. 

TOEFL scores may not be required of applicants from the following countries:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua/Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • British Guyana
  • Canada (Except Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica/other West Indies
  • Liberia
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • St. Helena
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Turks & Caico Isle
  • United Kingdom
  • Virgin Islands