College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Department of History and Anthropology

Faculty

Edwards Elise 101 Elise Edwards - Department Chair, History & Anthropology
Associate Professor of Anthropology; Directory of Anthropology Department
(PhD University of Michigan, 2003) sport; science; sex, gender and sexuality; popular culture; historical anthropology; Japan; East Asia
(317) 940-9743
emedwar1@butler.edu  
View Website
View Profile

Bruce Bigelow 101 Bruce Bigelow - Professor of Geography (PhD, Syracuse, 1978) Indiana and Midwest historical geography, historical geography of American expansionism and imperialism
(317) 940-9473
bbigelow@butler.edu>
View Profile

Cornell John 101 John Cornell - Associate Professor of History (PhD, Yale, 1991) modern European cultural and intellectual, Germany
(317) 940-9254
jcornell@butler.edu
View Website
View Profile

Viv Deno New Vivian Deno - Associate Professor of History (PhD, California, Irvine, 2002) African American, 20-century cultural and social, labor and class studies,
(317) 940-9681
vdeno@butler.edu
View Website
View Profile

Hanson Paul 101 Paul Hanson -Professor of History (PhD, California, Berkeley, 1981) Europe, French Revolution, Modern China
(317) 940-9679
phanson@butler.edu
View Profile

Antwain Hunter Antwain Hunter - Assistant Professor of History (PhD, Pennsylvania State U, 2014) Slavery, Emancipation, and the Civil War
(317) 940-9868
ahunter1@butler.edu

Zachary -Scarlett Zachary Scarlett -Assistant Professor of History (PhD, Northeastern University, 2013) Modern China, Maoist Culture and Politics, Radical Social Movements
(317) 940-8678
zscarlet@butler.edu
View Profile

Ageeth Sluis Ageeth Sluis - Associate Professor (PhD, Arizona, 2005) Latin America,
Gender and Sexuality
Director of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies
(317) 940-9045
asluis@butler.edu
View Profile

Swanson Scott 101 Scott Swanson - Associate Professor (PhD, Cornell, 1988) medieval, early modern Europe
(317) 940-9680
sswanson@butler.edu 
View Profile

Emeritus Faculty

Geib George George Geib - Professor of History (PhD, Wisconsin, Madison, 1969) U.S., early national period, military and Midwest
(317) 940-9868
ggeib@butler.edu
View Profile
View Website

Staff

Jan Hendricks - Administrative Specialist
Dept. History & Anthropology
(317) 940-9230
jhendri1@butler.edu


Why Study History and Anthropology at Butler?

NEWS

More news

History & Anthropology

Jordan Hall, Room 349
4600 Sunset Ave.
Indianapolis, IN 46208
(317) 940-9230
Secretary: Janice Hendricks
jhendri1@butler.edu