Skip to main content

Error message

Notice: Undefined index: bundle in fieldable_panels_panes_load_from_subtype() (line 995 of /var/www/html/sites/all/modules/contrib/fieldable_panels_panes/fieldable_panels_panes.module).
Registration and Records
Butler University Bulletin

Jordan College of the Arts

JCA Swan Lake


Lisa Brooks, DMA, Dean

Wendy Meaden, MFA, Associate Dean


  • Kathleen Boyd, DMA
  • Timothy R. Brimmer, DA
  • Lisa Brooks, DMA
  • Marek Cholewa
  • Richard Clark, MM
  • Michael Colburn, MM
  • Penny Dimmick, DA
  • William Fisher, MFA equivalent
  • Jeffrey Gillespie, PhD
  • Michelle Jarvis, MA
  • Susan McGuire
  • Wendy Meaden, MFA
  • David Murray, MM
  • Cynthia Pratt, MFA
  • Derek Reid, MA
  • Michael Schelle, PhD
  • Laurence Shapiro, MM
  • Doug Spaniol, DMA
  • Eric Stark, DMA
  • Diane Timmerman, MFA

Associate Professors

  • Elaina Artemiev, PhD
  • Larry Attaway, BM
  • Frank Felice, PhD
  • William Grubb, DMA
  • Nicholas Johnson, PhD
  • Brenda Johnston, MA
  • Melvin Jones, PhD
  • Mary Katherine Kelton, DMA
  • Robert Koharchik, MFA
  • Gail Lewis, DMA
  • Steve Nyktas, MFA
  • John Perkins, DMA
  • Matthew Pivec, DMA
  • Gautam Rao, MFA

Assistant Professors

  • Clare Carrasco, PhD
  • Ramón Flowers, MFA
  • David Ingram, MFA
  • Becky Marsh, PhD
  • Courtney Elkin Mohler, PhD
  • Rosanna Ruffo
  • Brian Weidner, PhD
  • Oliver Worthington, DMA
  • Dana Zenobi, DMA

Senior Lecturer and Artist-in-Residence

  • Jon Crabiel, MA


  • Christopher Sierra, DMA
  • Matthew Smith, DMA
  • Peter Han-Chih Wang, PhD


  • Andrew Farina, PhD


4600 Sunset Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Phone: 317-940-9231


Jordan College of the Arts has a distinguished tradition extending from the year 1895, when the Metropolitan School of Music was founded. That school merged in 1928 with the Indiana College of Music and Fine Arts to become the Arthur Jordan Conservatory of Music. In 1951, after 23 years of close affiliation, the conservatory became a part of Butler University as Jordan College of Music. The name was changed to Jordan College of Fine Arts in 1978, and in 2012 the name was again changed to Jordan College of the Arts (JCA).

Jordan College of the Arts provides focused professional study and collaborative, creative experiences within the context of a strong liberal arts university. We emphasize the development of students as artist-citizens who will become leaders in arts and society. The five academic departments—art, arts administration, dance, music, and theatre—focus on specific areas of study within their fields, be it the intersection of art and design in the Department of Art, classical ballet in the Department of Dance, or nonprofit arts management in the Arts Administration Department.

Through our community outreach program, the Butler Community Arts School, 100 Butler students teach music and other arts to almost 2,000 young people in Indianapolis, most of whom are on scholarship. All Jordan College of the Arts students—future artist-citizens—are involved in the arts both on campus and off, attending concerts and exhibitions throughout Indianapolis and Central Indiana, performing for diverse audiences at Butler and on tour, and working in arts organizations throughout the country.

Jordan College of the Arts offers programs of study leading to the degrees of bachelor of arts, bachelor of fine arts, bachelor of music, bachelor of musical arts, bachelor of science, master of arts, and master of music.

Butler University is a fully accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Dance, the National Association of Schools of Music, and the National Association of Schools of Theatre.