Skip to main content
Registration and Records
Butler University Bulletin

College of Education

College of Education Classroom


Brooke Kandel-Cisco, PhD, Interim Dean

Deborah Corpus, EdD, Interim Associate Dean

Angela Lupton, MS, Assistant Dean

Katie Russo, MS, Assistant Dean


  • Stephen Bloom, PhD
  • Kathryn Brooks, PhD
  • Deborah Corpus, EdD
  • Arthur Hochman, EdD
  • Thomas Keller, EdD
  • Suneeta Kercood, PhD
  • Debra Lecklider, PhD
  • Matthew Maurer, PhD
  • Meredith McAllister, PhD

Associate Professors

  • Nicholas Abel, EdD
  • Susan Adams, PhD
  • Susan Adamson, PhD
  • Kelli Esteves, EdD
  • Lisa Farley, EdD
  • Ryan Flessner, PhD
  • Shelly Furuness, PhD
  • Brooke Kandel-Cisco, PhD
  • Brandie Oliver, EdD
  • Catherine Pangan, EdD
  • Mindy Welch, PhD

Assistant Professors

  • Frederick Ettl Rodriguez, EdD

Senior Lecturer

  • Angela Lupton, MS


  • Amy Bultinck, MS
  • Lori Desautels, PhD
  • Art Furman, MA
  • Erin Garriott, MS
  • Cathy Hargrove Hartman, MS
  • Theresa Knipstein-Meyer, MS
  • Richard Mitchell, MS

Chair of Undergraduate Learning and Teaching Teams

Kelli Esteves, EdD

Chair of Graduate Learning and Teaching Teams

Nicholas Abel, EdD

Director of EPPSP

Debra Lecklider, PhD

Director of School Counseling

Brandie Oliver, EdD

Director of METL

Flo Barnes, MS

Data Management and Accreditation Administrator

Karen Farrell, MS

Licensure, Placement, and External Relations

Katie Russo, MS

Curriculum Coordinator

Shelly Furuness, PhD

Coordinator for Global Experiences

Kelli Esteves, EdD


South Campus, Room 163
Butler University
4600 Sunset Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46208

Phone: 317-940-9224



The Butler University College of Education was created in 1930 when Butler’s Department of Education, established in 1919, and the Teachers College of Indianapolis, founded in 1892, combined. The College of Education has two major purposes:

  • Preparing teachers, counselors, and administrators for positions in elementary education (PreK–6) and middle/secondary education
  • Providing services to schools and allied professionals, educational organizations, agencies, and the general community through surveys, consultative services, research, cooperative studies, and clinical services

The College offers curricula leading to the Bachelor of Science Degree in Elementary Education or the Bachelor of Science Degree in Middle/Secondary Education. The programs in teacher education include field and clinical experiences throughout the curriculum, with the capstone experience being integrated laboratory and student teaching. Butler University teacher education programs are accredited by the Indiana Office of Educator Effectiveness and Licensing (OEEL) and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), and they are now affiliated with the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), the new accrediting body for educator preparation.