Skip to main content
Celebration of diversity distinguished lecture series

Celebration of Diversity Distinguished Lecture Series

Now in its 30th year, Butler University’s Celebration of Diversity Distinguished Lecture Series provides our campus and our community with opportunities to hear from world-renowned scholars, dignitaries, and personalities. The University is extremely proud to provide a series that has the power to open minds and inspire an inclusive climate. Past speakers have included Maya Angelou, Coretta Scott King, Bill Clinton, Laura Bush, and more recently, Eva Kor.

Series Mission

At Butler University, we are committed to providing opportunities for continual growth to our students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the broader Central Indiana community. As such, it is vital that we provide intellectually rigorous programming that supports a diverse range of people and perspectives. The Celebration of Diversity Distinguished Lecture Series is one way in which we as a University strive to inspire individuals to make a meaningful impact on our world.

The mission of the series is to actively engage students, faculty, staff, and the larger Butler community in necessary conversations about diversity in all its forms to foster a culture of inclusivity and thoughtfulness.

Our Sponsors

Butler’s Distinguished Lecture Series has been a joint collaboration between the University and the Office of the Mayor since 2002 and is focused on dismantling barriers to diversity and multicultural interaction. Learn how to become a part of this initiative.

2018-2019 Series

This fall, we look forward to hosting Queer Eye's Karamo Brown and political expert Victoria M. DeFrancesco Soto. Learn More. 



Our Past Speakers

Explore the gallery by clicking on the image below. 

Diversity Lecture Series Speakers