

MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES

Awards Day April 30, 2024

2023-2024 Department Awards

The Department of Mathematical Sciences is proud to present the following awards for the 2023-2024 academic year.

The John Gaisser Award

Honors excellence in actuarial science

Emilie Hammell

The Prem Sharma Award

Honors excellence in mathematical research

Sara Moore

The Amos Carpenter Memorial Award

Honors excellence in mathematics

Evan Blom

The Jeremiah P. Farrell Award

Honors excellence in mathematics education

Chloe Enk

The Judith Morrel Award

Honors excellence in data science

Andrea Marchi

The Lacey Echols Award

Honors excellence in statistics

Tristan Rumsey

The Robert O. Whitesell Award

Presented to two outstanding upper-class students majoring in mathematics

Jenna Lane

Eleanor Waiss

College-Wide Award

The Charles O. McGaughey Award

This award is given to students who have completed at least two years in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences or the Lacey School of Business and who have demonstrated leadership, service, and academic achievement in the named area

Rachel Grote
Actuarial Science

Kappa Mu Epsilon

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society. The Butler University Indiana Beta Chapter was founded in 1952 and has 452 members.

Gabriella Campbell
Danika Casa
Elizabeth Coleman
Gillian Cutshaw

Aidan Johnson Will Kelleher Cara Oser Elizabeth Pinel

Mu Sigma Rho

Mu Sigma Rho is a national statistics honor society. The Butler University Chapter was founded in 2023 and has 11 members.

Evan Blom Logan Bolinger Nicholas Flores Emilie Hammell Megan Miller Hallie Nuccio Joey Scheuer Rachel Tebbe Jack Wilcox To view the program online along with the awards listing, scan this QR code.

