Institute for Research & Scholarship

Congratulations to all 2012-13 internal grant awardees


Faculty Fellowship Grants

Jennifer Kowalski, Department of Biological Sciences
"Investigation of SUMO enzyme function in regulating synaptic transmission at the C. elegans neuromuscular junction"

Ali O'Malley, Department of Psychology
"Implications of Identity Level for Performance Management"

Travis Ryan, Department of Biological Sciences
"Vehicular-Based Mortality of Wildlife within an Urban/Residential Habitat


Faculty Research Grants

Brooke Beloso, Department of Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies
"The Traffic in Children: On the Use and Abuse of Youth in Contemporary Morality Crusades"

Medhane Cumbay, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
"Physical and Chemical Properties of Beta Blockers with Mixed Pharmacology"

Alex Erkine, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
"Development of the screening system for compounds affecting human HSF2"

Hala Fadda, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
"Drug supersaturation: interplay between gut and molecule"

Stuart Glennan, Department of Philosophy and Religion
"The New Mechanical Philosophy"

Terri Jett, Department of Political Science
"The Justice that Justice Denied: The Problematic Case of the Black Farmers Civil Rights Settlement with the Department of Agriculture"

Jeremy Johnson, Department of Chemistry
"Identification of novel depalmitoylase activity in the model organism, Saccharomyces cerevisiae"

Antonio Menendez-Alarcon, Department of Sociology
"Citizenship and Belonging: A Comparative Analysis of Immigrant's Integration"

Elizabeth Mix, Department of Art
"Bio-Art in the context of Cabinets of Curiosities in Holland"

Brian Murphy, Department of Physics and Astronomy
"Searching for Variable Stars in Globular Star Clusters"

David Murray, Department of Music
"Recording Project - Sonatas by Shostakovich and Franck"

Brandie Oliver, College of Education
"Providing Support After Graduation for New School Counselors"

Carmen Salsbury, Department of Biological Sciences
"Biological Value of Urban Habitat Modification"

Sholeh Shahrokhi, Department of History and Anthropology
"Body Art and Political Change: An Iranian Experience"

Ageeth Sluis, Department of History and Anthropology
"Anthropology for a New Age: Carlos Castaneda, the Reflexive Turn and Identity Politics"

Ania Spyra, Department of English
"Bruno Schulz's Drohobych: A Literary Pilgrimage"


Instructional Development Grants

Zachary Finn, College of Business
"Commercial Property & Liability Insurance and Loss Control"

Mandy Gingerich, Department of Psychology
"Misrepresentations of Memory in Mainstream Movies"

Kristen Hoerl, Media, Rhetoric and Culture; Organizational Communication and Leadership
"The Rhetoric of Horror Films"

Geoffrey Hoops and Jeremy Johnson, Department of Chemistry
"Biochemistry II"

Shannon Lieb, Department of Chemistry
"Physical Chemistry Lab"

Su-Mei Ooi, Department of Political Science
"International Relations in Democracy," and "Chinese Foreign Policy"

Matt Pivec, School of Music
"Jazz Ensemble"

Carrie Richie, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders
"Advanced seminar in speech perception"