Registration and Records

Permission Numbers and Enrollment Permission

What is a permission number?

A permission number is a special key that allows you to bypass a problem that is blocking your enrollment in a particular course. You may need a permission number if:

  • enrollment in a class is by permission only,
  • you have not satisfied a prerequisite, or
  • the class has already reached its enrollment limit.

Permission without a number

Many units are now assigning permission for you to enroll on My.Butler by entering your name in an approved list. When this happens, you do not need to enter the special number; just enroll in the class as you would any other, and the system will know you have been given permission.

How do I get permission?

Permission numbers and enrollment permission are managed by instructional departments or the colleges. Check below for who to call for the subject you want to take. Select the college which offers the class:

Core Curriculum
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
College of Education
College of Business
College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Jordan College of the Arts
College of Communication

What do I do with a permission number?

Once you are issued a permission number, you can enter it in Add a Class. Select the specific section, and enter the permission number before you click next. Permission numbers are different for each class and for each semester, and may be specifically assigned to a student. If your permission number is rejected, return to the issuer and see if the correct course and semester were used. If the issuer cannot resolve the problem, call Registration and Records at (317) 940-9203.

Who do I see for permission?


Core Curriculum

AR Contact the department teaching the class, such as MA, CS
FYS Laura Daily-x9480 or FYS@butler.edu
GHS Laura Daily-x9480 or ldaily@butler.edu
NW

Contact the department teaching the class, such as BI, PS

PCA Michelle Jarvis-x9961 or mjarvis@butler.edu
PWB Mindy Welch-x9550 or mwelch@butler.edu
SW

Contact the department teaching the class, such as SO, JR, COB, PO, etc.

TI

Contact the department teaching the class, such as CL, EN, PL, RL, STS, etc.

 

DC Judi Morrel-x9723 or jmorrel@butler.edu
HN            

Jason Lantzer-x9302 or jlantzer@butler.edu

LC

Jennifer Griggs-x8060 or jgriggs@butler.edu

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

AN

Elise Edwards -x9743 or emedwar1@butler.edu

Jan Hendricks -x9230 or jhendri1@butler.edu

AS

Xianming Han-x9873 or xhan@butler.edu

Laura Brandenburg -x8314 or lbranden@butler.edu

BI

Travis Ryan-x9977 or tryan@butler.edu

Lori Moore- x9411 or lamoore@butler.edu
CH LuAnne McNulty-x9063 or lmcnulty@butler.edu
CLA

Chad Bauman-x8705 or cbauman@butler.edu 

Mary Proffitt-x9974 or mproffit@butler.edu
CN

Terri Carney-x8438 or tcarney@butler.edu

CS

Jon Sorenson-x9765 or jsorenso@butler.edu  

Amy Aldridge-x9269 or aaldridg@butler.edu
DD

Joe Kirsch-x9400 or jkirsch@butler.edu

Jessica McCormick-x9021 or jrmccorm@butler.edu
EN

Andrew Levy-x9803 or alevy@butler.edu

Anne Minnich-Bech-x9293 or acbeck@butler.edu

FL

Terri Carney-x8438 or tcarney@butler.edu

FR

Terri Carney-x8438 or tcarney@butler.edu

GE

Elise Edwards -x9743 or emedwar1@butler.edu

Jan Hendricks -x9230 or jhendri1@butler.edu 

GK

Chad Bauman-x8705 or cbauman@butler.edu  

Mary Proffitt-x9974 or mproffit@butler.edu
GR

Terri Carney-x8438 or tcarney@butler.edu

GWS

Ageeth Sluis-x9045 or asluis@butler.edu

Holly Zimbelman-x6866 or hzimbelm@butler.edu

HST

Elise Edwards -x9743 or emedwar1@butler.edu

Jan Hendricks -x9230 or jhendri1@butler.edu

IM Stuart Glennan-x9890 or sglennan@butler.edu
IS

Eloise Sureau-Hale-x9588 or esureau@butler.edu

Holly Zimbelman-x6866 or hzimbelm@butler.edu

LC Jennifer Griggs-x8060 or jgriggs@butler.edu
LT

Chad Bauman-x8705 or cbauman@butler.edu

Mary Proffitt-x9974 or mproffit@butler.edu
MA

Bill Johnston-x8498 

Rena Duerksen-x9521 or rduerkse@butler.edu

PH

Xianming Han-x9873 or xhan@butler.edu

Laura Brandenburg -x8314 or lbranden@butler.edu

PL

Chad Bauman-x8705 or cbauman@butler.edu  

Mary Proffitt-x9974 or mproffit@butler.edu
PO Terri Jett-x88451 or tjett@butler.edu
PS

Instructor of course

Carol Montgomery x9266 cmontgom@butler.edu

Robert Dale-x9849 or rdale@butler.edu

RL

Harry van der Linden-x9976 or hvanderl@butler.edu  

Mary Proffitt-x9974 or mproffit@butler.edu
RZ Captain David Ross McKee rmkee@butler.edu
SE

Jon Sorenson-x9765 or jsorenso@butler.edu  

Amy Aldridge-x9269 or aaldridg@butler.edu
SO

Kate Novak-x6176 or kbnovak@butler.edu

Pam Crea-x9319 or pcrea@butler.edu

SP

Terri Carney-x8438 or tcarney@butler.edu

ST

Carmen Salsbury-x9879 or csalsbur@butler.edu

Holly Zimbelman-x6866 or hzimbelm@butler.edu

College of Education

ED, PE Contact the instructor and your advisor, advisor contacts Angela Lupton.

College of Business

COB401, 402

Sandy Coppadge-x8426 or scoppadg@butler.edu

MBA, MPA

Tim Bennett x9462 or tbennet1@butler.edu

Joyce Bacone-x9842 or jbacone@butler.edu
MG109

Sandy Coppadge-x8426 or scoppadg@butler.edu

AC, COB, EC, EI, FN, IB, LE, MG, MK, MS, RM

Submit an email request to your advisor who will forward your request.

College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

AP, PX, RX

Brenda Caudill-x9471 or bcaudill@butler.edu

or Bonnie Brown-x8800 or bbrown1@butler.edu

Jordan College of the Arts

AA

Amy Barnes-x9567 or atbarnes@butler.edu

Susan Zurbuchen-x9463 or szurbuch@butler.edu

ART Elizabeth Mix-x6457 or emix@butler.edu
DA

Larry Attaway-x9662 or lattaway@butler.edu 

Music

Joy Rogers-x9246 or jlroger1@butler.edu

TH

LaKisha Cooper-x9659 or ljcooper@butler.edu

College of Communication

CME

Creative Media and Entertainment Studies

Christine Taylor-x5967 or ctaylor1@butler.edu

Maggie McGlynn-x5962 or mmcglynn@butler.edu

COM101/SW266

CCOM Requirements

 Annette Lee-x9625 or ahlee@butler.edu

CSD Communication Sciences and Disorders

Mary Gospel-x8701 or mgospel@butler.edu 

Maggie McGlynn-x5962 or mmcglynn@butler.edu

JR Eugene S. Pulliam School of Journalism

Nancy Whitmore-x8080 or nwhitmor@butler.edu  

Maggie McGlynn-x5962 or mmcglynn@butler.edu
MRC The Media, Rhetoric & Culture

Kristin Swenson-x6466 or kswenson@butler.edu

Melissa Friedman-x8350 or mfriedma@butler.edu

ORG Organizational Communication and Leadership

Jessica Moore-x8081 or moore@butler.edu

Melissa Friedman-x8350 or mfriedma@butler.edu

STR Strategic Communication: PR & Advertising

Rose Campbell-x9357 or rcampbel@butler.edu

Melissa Friedman-x8350 or mfriedma@butler.edu

Return to Top

Contact Registration and Records to request changes: (317) 940-9203.