Public Safety

Personnel and Office Contacts for Public Safety

 

Ben HunterBenjamin Hunter - Chief of Staff for President James M. Danko

Executive Director of Public Safety

Director Hunter serves as the Chief of Staff to University President James M. Danko and as the Executive Director of Public Safety. He is a graduate of Indiana University - Purdue University - Indianapolis (IUPUI) with a Bachelors of Arts in Political Science. He currently is an elected official serving on the Indianapolis City-County Council representing the eastside of Indianapolis.

Director Hunter oversees the daily operations of the University President's Office and serve as a member of the University's senior management team. He works closely with and advises Butler's senior administrative leadership and its board of trustees on a breadth of high-level policy, governance, and procedural issues, as well as on safety and security issues. Director Hunter represents Butler to internal and external University stakeholders and serves as a liaison for local and state legislative initiatives affecting the University.

______________________________________________________________________________

 University Police Command Staff

 

Andy Ryan

Andrew Ryan - Assistant Police Chief of Administration

Executive Officer for the University Police Department   

Chief Ryan started his career with Butler University in 1991 as a Sergeant. He was later promoted to the position of Assistant Chief of the University Police Department in August 1998. Chief Ryan is certified as a Master instructor, Taser instructor, Strategies and Tactics of Patrol Stops (S.T.O.P.S.) instructor, Rape Aggression Defense instructor, and an Indiana Law Enforcement Academy generalist instructor.

He is a 1996 graduate of Butler University with a Bachelor of Science degree and has an associate of arts degree from Park College. Chief Ryan also is a graduate of the 227th session of the FBI National Academy.

Chief Ryan is currently the Assistant Chief of Police for Administration. He handles federal compliance and training mandates for the University Police Department. He has been appointed as the Accreditation Manager as the University Police seeks national accreditation through the International Associations of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (IACLEA).

Bill Weber Bill Weber - Assistant Police Chief of Operations

Chief Weber has a long history in law enforcement serving twenty-seven years with the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department (IMPD). He served in various operational roles to include accident investigations, field training program, and the DUI enforcement unit. He was promoted and served as a Sergeant of Police in the Operations Division of IMPD leading the DUI Unit. Prior to his retirement from IMPD he was assigned to the Downtown District of Indianapolis as a supervisor.

Chief Weber started with the University Police in 2011 and was promoted to the Assistant Chief of Police for Operations in January 2012. He oversees daily operations and law enforcement event coverage for the campus. The shift supervisors report directly to Chief Weber. 

Chief Weber is most proud of the fact he is a father to three wonderful children. He is an avid gardener and enjoys being outside. Chief Weber can often be seen walking throughout campus speaking with faculty, staff, students and visitors.  

Office Contacts

Office Telephone
University Police Operations Center   317-940-BUPD - Option #1
Emergency number from campus IP phone Dial 911
Emergency number from cell phone (pre-program your cell) 317-940-9999
Parking Services Office 317-940-BUPD

 

University Police Department

Name Title Email Telephone
Benjamin Hunter Chief of Staff/Executive Director of Public Safety bdhunter@Butler.edu 317-940-9982
Andrew Ryan Assistant Police Chief of Administration aryan@Butler.edu 317-940-8418
Bill Weber Assistant Police Chief of Operations bhweber@Butler.edu 317-940-8740
Shawn Barks Sergeant, Late Shift sbarks@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Michael Banner Sergeant, Late Shift mbanner@Butler.edu 317-940-8819
Chris Marcum Sergeant, Day Shift cmarcum@Butler.edu 317-940-8419
Tony Rivera Sergeant, Day Shift trivera@Butler.edu 317-940-9983
Bruce Allee Detective bballee@Butler.edu 317-940-8856
Kevin Barrett Patrol Officer kbarrett@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Roy Betz Patrol Officer rbetz@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Daniel Birt Patrol Officer dbirt@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Mark Crawn Patrol Officer mcrawn@butler.edu 317-940-9396
Bryan Denton Patrol Officer bdenton@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Bill Kennedy Patrol Officer bkennedy@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Vincent Marshall Patrol Officer vmarshal@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Chris Nelson Patrol Officer cnelson2@butler.edu 317-940-9396
Chris Smith Patrol Officer cjsmith7@butler.edu 317-940-9396
Chris Walls Patrol Officer cwalls@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Loran Wilber Patrol Officer lwilber@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Jason Downs K9 Unit Officer (Marcus) jbdowns@Butler.edu  317-940-9396
Emily Brown Communications Officer ebrown@butler.edu 317-940-9396
Lydia Martinez Communications Officer lnmartin@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Sean McEvilly Communications Officer smcevill@butler.edu 317-940-9396
Olivia DiFilippo Communications Officer 317-940-9396
Donna Doty Security Officer

 

 Office of Parking Services

Name Title Email Telephone
Theresa Hilliard Parking Services thilliar@Butler.edu 317-940-9396
Aaron Chalmers Parking Enforcement Officer achalmer@Butler.edu 317-940-9396

 

Environmental Health and Safety

Name Title Email Telephone
Lindsey Birt Health and Safety Specialist lbirt@Butler.edu 317-940-6584