Jordan College of Fine Arts
School of Music

Graduate Music Information, Policies and Procedures

IV. Academic Advising and Course Registration

A. Graduate Music Advisors

Composition - Dr. Michael Schelle
Office - Lilly Hall, room 219
Phone - (317) 940-9642 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 9642
E-mail: mschelle@butler.edu

Conducting: Choral and Instrumental - Prof. Stanley DeRusha
Office - Lilly Hall, room 216
Phone - (317) 940-6558 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 6558
E-mail: sderusha@butler.edu

Music Education (thesis and non-thesis options) - Dr. Dan Bolin
Office - Lilly Hall, room 225
Phone - (317) 940-9988 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 9988
E-mail: dbolin@butler.edu

Music History - Dr. James Briscoe
Office - Lilly Hall, room 237
Phone - (317) 940-9248 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 9248
E-mail: jbriscoe@butler.edu

Performance - Prof. Richard Clark
Office - Lilly Hall, room 157
Phone - (317) 940-8031 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 8031
E-mail: rclark@butler.edu

Piano Pedagogy -Dr. Kate Boyd
Office - Lilly Hall, room 267
Phone - (317) 940-5500 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 5500
E-mail: kboyd@butler.edu

Non-Degree-seeking graduate students - Dr. Doug Spaniol
Office - Lilly Hall, room 221
Phone - (317) 940-9064 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 9064
E-mail: dspaniol@butler.edu

COE seeking certification or re-certification - Dr. Penny Dimmick
Office - Lilly Hall, room 242
Phone - (317) 940-6422 or 1 (800) 368-6852, ext. 6422
E-mail: pdimmick@butler.edu

B. On-line Registration

Each graduate student will be assigned to an academic advisor (see above).

Graduate students register for classes on-line. It is essential to meet with your advisor at the start of each registration period to discuss course selection and progress towards completion of the degree. Once a schedule has been determined, the advisor will remove the advising "service indicator" on the student's web account, and the student can register at his/her convenience.

Registration dates and times are published in the schedule of classes. For short-term classes and workshops, a student may register on or before the first day of classes.

Undergraduate prerequisite courses can be taken only for Z credit; this means that the grade and hours will be indicated on the grade report and transcript but not counted towards the GPA or towards the total graduate hours required.

Courses taken by a graduate student cannot be taken pass/fail, but some may be taken for non-credit. A student pays the full cost of tuition for any non-credit coursework taken.

 

Back to Table of Contents