College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Department of Math & Actuarial Science

Departmental Honors 2014

Congratulations to the following students for their outstanding scholarly work in mathematics and actuarial science.

Awarded High Honors in Actuarial Science:

  • Laura Shull
  • Nathan Smith
  • Joel McVey 

Awarded Highest Honors in Mathematics:

  • Aaron Schlenker 

Phi Beta Kappa

Congratulations to Aaron Schlenker nad Lauren Hannah who have been selected for Phi Beta Kappa.

Spring Awards Day 2014

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

The Outstanding Graduating Senior Award is a Departmental Award given to graduating seniors who have shown exemplary performance in their respective majors.  These students have shown exceptional potential in mathematics and/or actuarial science.  This year's recipient is:

  • Joel McVey (Actuarial Science)
  • Aaron Schlenker (Mathematics)

The Donald Minassian Award is given in honor of Emeritus Professor, Dr. Donald Minassian who retired in the summer of 2008.  Dr. Minassian was one of the faculty members who started the Actuarial Science program at Butler.  He is a fellow of the Society of Actuaries, a member of the American academy of Actuaries, and belongs to Phi Beta Kappa.  While at Butler, Dr. Minassian taught mainly actuarial science courses at the junior-senior level.  This year's recipient is

  • Laura Shull
  • Nathan Smith

The Bay Chotlos Award for dedication to a professional career in mathematics is presented to:

  • Lauren Hannah

The Robert O. Whitesell Honor Award for an upper class student majoring in Mathematics who shows academic excellence is presented to:

  • Matt Blandford
  • Sarah Stoops

The C. McGaughey Award is given to students who have completed two full-time years in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, or the College of Business and have shown leadership abilities and at least a "B" average. The recipient in Actuarial Science is:

  • Velena Meade

The Mathematical Association of America Honorary Membership is a one-year honorary membership in the MAA professional society. The award is made to a freshman, sophomore, or junior who demonstrates exceptional potential in mathematics. This year's winners are:

  • Matt Blandford
  • Connie Frank
  • David Harting
  • Helen Heimark
  • Chris Hill
  • Anna Durham
  • Katie Nikodym
  • Leesa Jing
  • Joe Hoover
  • Daniel Karr
  • Alex Olivero
  • Sarah Stoops
  • Kailie Tobin

The Freshman Mathematics Problem-Solving Competition, established to encourage early interest in mathematics, is a written examination open to all Butler freshmen. The prize for best performance is awarded to:

  • Alex Sotille

The Jeremiah P. Farrell Award for dedication to a professional career in mathematics is presented to:

  • Molly Anderson
  • Zach Burney
  • Lauren Hannah
  • Emily Garvin
  • Phillip Lanz

The Amos Carpenter Award honors excellence in mathematical research:

  • Aaron Schlenker

Congratulations to all of our outstanding students!