Information Technology

Information Management Council

Charge

The Information Management Council, comprised of Butler University faculty and staff, deliberates on strategic issues related to the use of information technology systems and associated resources. It reviews and/or proposes recommended policies and priorities which contribute to the university's advancement toward accomplishing strategic initiatives. It may establish workgroups for implementation or study of specific projects.

Sample topics

The committee discusses a range of topics. Some typical topics include:

  • Oversight for campus-wide computer replacement cycle including labs & desktops
  • Instructional Technology needs assessment & recommendations
  • Mediation of new classrooms
  • Butler computer use policy
  • Emerging technologies and application to teaching & learning
  • Review of major down time
  • Microsoft/Apple operating system upgrades-- Butler standard
  • Priorities for Information Technology

Membership

The IMC consists of six faculty (generally one per college), three staff, the Dean of Libraries, and the Chief Information Officer. Individual members are appointed by the committee convener and CIO after consultation with the applicable college or divisional leadership on appropriate representation. The Dean of Libraries and Chief Information Officer are standing members; all other terms are for two years with one additional two-year term permissible. 

Members Term Began
Faculty Priscilla Arling (COB)
parling@butler.edu
09/2008
Carrie Rector (CCOM)
crector@butler.edu
08/2013 
Amy Peak (COPHS)
apeak@butler.edu
01/2010
Stuart Glennan (Interim Assoc. Dean, LAS)
sglennan@butler.edu
08/2013
Lisa Farley (COE)
lfarley@butler.edu 
 06/2011
Michelle Jarvis (JCA)
mjarvis@butler.edu 
 06/2011
Staff Chris Potts (Enrollment Management)
cpotts@butler.edu
02/2011
Beth Alexander (President's Office)
balexand@butler.edu
08/2009
VACANT  
Standing Members Scott Kincaid (IT)
skincaid@butler.edu
Ongoing
Julie Miller (Dean of Libraries)
jmille5@butler.edu
Ongoing
Julianne Miranda (Sr Director, Ctr Academic Tech & Director, eLearning)
jmiranda@butler.edu
Ongoing
Admin Support Katherine Smith Ongoing

Meetings

IMC generally meets twice a month during the academic year and monthly during the summer.

Contact

To request inclusion of a topic on the group's agenda, contact Scott Kincaid skincaid@butler.edu.