Distinguished Faculty Awards

2013-14 Distinguished Faculty Awardees


Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership

Margaret Brabant, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science

In 1996, Brabant founded Butler University's Center for Citizenship and Community (CCC) and served as its director for a decade. She developed and coordinated service-learning opportunities for faculty, students, staff, and community members and oversaw the development of dozens of interdisciplinary and inter-college service-learning courses.

She has published works on the service-learning pedagogy, medieval political philosophy, and feminist thought. Her scholarly and teaching interests converge in her concern to help develop a more informed and involved citizenry.

Brabant joined the Butler faculty in 1991 and continues to serve the University and support civic engagement efforts through her roles as an Indianapolis Community Requirement Fellow, her work on the Faculty Development Committee, and her tenure as chair of Butler's Faculty Senate (2010-2014). She has been an Indiana Campus Compact Senior Fellow and is a member of the inaugural class of fellows of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement.

The University Award for Distinguished Faculty Service and Leadership honors a faculty member whose service has improved the University or the wider community through professional service.

Award for Distinguished Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

Peter Grossman, Ph.D.
Professor of Economics

Grossman has held the Clarence Efromyson Chair since joining the COB faculty in 1994. He has taught 13 different Butler courses, of which he created five and revived several others that had not been offered for years.

He was a Visiting Scholar at the University of Houston (UH) in 2012 and is currently a Research Associate of the Hobby Center for Public Policy at UH.

Grossman has published more than 200 works, including articles for both scholarly and general publications, and numerous commentaries published in, among many others, the Wall Street Journal and the Christian Science Monitor.

He is the author or editor of seven books, covering a range of topics from U.S. business history to the intersection of law and economics, and, most especially, the history and economics of energy and public policy. His latest book,U.S. Energy Policy and the Pursuit of Failure(Cambridge University Press, 2013) is an analytic history of American energy policy.

In the early 1990s, he was a Research Associate at the Center for the Study of American Business directed by the late Murray Weidenbaum, who had been Chair of the President's Council of Economic Advisors.

The University Award for Distinguished Research, Scholarship, or Creative Work is the highest accolade a faculty member can receive that honors her or his body of substantial scholarly achievement accomplished as a faculty member of Butler University.

Award for Distinguished Teaching

Diane Timmerman, MFA
Professor of Theatre

For the past 20 years, Timmerman has taught a wide range of courses in acting and voice for the actor for Butler theatre majors and in the Core Curriculum. She is a Designated Linklater Voice Teacher, one of about 150 certified teachers in the world. 

She administers the Christel DeHaan Visiting International Theatre Artist program at Butler, complementing her love of learning and teaching about international theatre practices. She taught on the spring 2010 voyage for the Semester at Sea program.

The Producing Artistic Director of the Heartland Actors' Repertory Theatre (HART), Timmerman produces the popular free Shakespeare program in Indianapolis's White River State Park. Nine Butler students will intern for HART during summer 2014.

The University Award for Distinguished Teaching celebrates faculty who have demonstrated outstanding effort, accomplishment, and dedicated service to Butler students' best educational interests.


Meet our 2012-13 awardees by clicking here.