Distinguished Faculty Awards

2012-13 Distinguished Faculty Awardees


Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership

Lisa Evans Brooks, D.M.A.
Professor of Music

Lisa Evans Brooks, D.M.A.Professor Brooks has taught in the Butler School of Music since 1994. She previously held faculty appointments at Baylor University, the University of Wisconsin at Eau Claire, Messiah College, and Dickinson College. TheUniversity Award for Distinguished Faculty Service and Leadership honors a faculty member whose service has improved the University or the wider community through professional service.

Award for Distinguished Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

Brian Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Murphy has served as chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy for nearly eight years and as director of Holcomb Observatory and Planetarium throughout his 20 years at Butler. The University Award for Distinguished Research, Scholarship, or Creative Work is the highest accolade a faculty member can receive that honors her or his body of substantial scholarly achievement accomplished as a faculty member of Butler University.

Award for Distinguished Teaching

W. Kent Van Tyle, Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacology

Former chair of the Pharmaceutical Sciences Department and associate dean of the College, Van Tyle teaches general, autonomic, cardiovascular and endocrine pharmacology and has served as COPHS director of instructional technology since 2007. A member of the honors faculty, he has directed five honors theses projects and advised student research. Pharmacy students have honored Van Tyle three times with a "Best Teacher" award. The University Award for Distinguished Teaching celebrates faculty who have demonstrated outstanding effort, accomplishment, and dedicated service to Butler students' best educational interests.