Center for Academic Technology

Emerging Technologies Committee

The Emerging Technologies Committee includes representatives from each college and the library. Members are charged with exploring evolving technologies and cultivating dialogue around the intersection of technology and education. The committee leads a coordinated effort to identify and examine technologies that may be of benefit to the educational enterprise at Butler University.

Mission Statement

The Emerging Technologies Committee mission is to foster a culture of inquiry and conversation that promotes best practices in teaching and learning with technology. We do this by promoting faculty development, articulating guiding principles, evaluating new technologies that may enhance student learning, increasing committee awareness of technology trends, and advocating technology acquisition and implementation consistent with the University mission.

Membership of the committee includes representatives from each college, the Library and Information Technology as follows:

  • Jason Davidson, College of Business
  • Armando Pellerano, College of Communication
  • Catherine Hagerman Pangan, College of Education
  • Kent VanTyle, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • Rebecca Wahl, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • James McGrath, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Janice Gustaferro, Butler Libraries

Please contact any member of the committee to learn more.