College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Biology

Directory

Dr. Travis J. Ryan ~ Department Chair and Professor
Office: Gallahue 285 Expertise: Animal Ecology and Conservation Biology
(317) 940-9977
tryan@butler.edu
View Profile

Sean Berthrong ~ Assistant Professor
317-940-8737
sberthro@butler.edu
View Profile

McKenzie Beverage ~ Sustainability Coordinator, Center for Urban Ecology
(317)940-6505
mbeverag@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Rebecca Dolan ~ Director, Friesner Herbarium
Office: Gallahue 61 Expertise: Plant ecology
(317) 940-9413
rdolan@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Thomas E. Dolan ~ Professor
Office: Gallahue 63 Expertise: Mycology
(317) 940-9576
tdolan@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Shelley Etnier ~ Associate Professor
Office: Gallahue 253 Expertise: Biomechanics of Animals and Plants
(317) 940-9748
setnier@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Erin E. Gerecke ~ Lecturer
Office: Gallahue 259 Expertise: Genetics and Molecular Biology
(317) 940-9459
egerecke@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Nat Hauck ~ Assistant Professor
Office: Gallahue 251
(317) 940-8301
nhauck@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Jennifer Kowalski ~ Assistant Professor
Office: Gallahue 271
(317) 940-8879
jrkowals@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Kowalski's Research

Lindsay Lewellyn ~ Assistant Professor Biology
Office GH 263
(317)940-9412
llewelly@butler.edu
View Profile

Marva Meadows ~ Lecturer
Office: Gallahue 285 Expertise: Plant ecology
(317) 940-9320
mmeadows@butler.edu
View Profile

Lori Moore ~ Departmental Secretary
Office: Gallahue 287
(317) 940-9411
lamoore@butler.edu

Marcia Moore ~ Friesner Herbarium Assistant
Office: Gallahue 72
(317) 940-8302
mmoore@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Charissa Dresden Osborne ~ Adjunct
Office: Gallahue 258 Expertise: Zoology
cosborne@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Carmen M. Salsbury ~ Professor
Expertise: Behavioral Ecology of Mammals Office: Gallahue 255 View Dr. Salsbury's Research:
(317) 940-9879
csalsbur@butler.edu
View Profile

Expertise: Behavioral Ecology of Mammals
Office: Gallahue 255

Dr. Salsbury's Research

Dr. Katherine M. Schmid ~ Associate Professor
Office: Gallahue 45 Expertise: Plant Physiology and Molecular Biology
(317) 940-9956
kschmid@butler.edu
View Profile

James Shellhaas ~ Professor
Office: Gallahue 43 Expertise: Pathogenic bacteria and immune mechanisms Dr. Shellhaas' Web Page:
(317) 940-9587
jshellha@butler.edu
View Profile

Dr. Andrew Stoehr ~ Assistant Professor
Office: Gallahue 261
(317) 940-6644
astoehr@butler.edu
View Profile

Mike Trombley ~ Instructor
317-940-9600
mtromble@butler.edu

Dr. Philip Villani ~ Associate Professor
Office: Gallahue 59 Expertise: Plant Development
(317) 940-8334
pvillani@butler.edu
View Profile

Emeriti Faculty

Dr. James W. Berry - Professor Emeritus, 1996
Phone:(317) 259-9488 (Summer) or (352) 372-0333 (Winter)
Email: jwberry@butler.edu or berryjw@ufl.edu
Dr. Berry now divides his time between Indianapolis, Indiana and Gainesville, Florida. He has "retired" from his position as Editor of the Journal of Arachnology and the Proceedings of the Indiana Academy of Science. He was recently honored by the Indiana Academy of Science with its 2012 Special Services award.

Dr. David L. Daniell - Professor Emeritus, 2001
Phone:(317) 940-9348
Email: ddaniell@butler.edu
Web Page
Dr. Daniell retired in 2001, in part to have more time to travel. He and wife Shirley worked in an Alaska cruise before he was called back to teach to cover an emergency need in BI100. Dr. Daniell can still be reached in Gallahue 260.

Dr. Michael S. Maloney - Professor Emeritus
(317) 940-9412
Email: mmaloney@butler.edu

Dr. Richard W. Miller - Professor Emeritus, 2008
Email: rwmiller@butler.edu
In retirement, Dr. Miller is continuing his interest in Indiana natural history. That includes working with various organizations to preserve and promote natural areas in Indiana. He also plans some of the usual retirement activities, including travel, photography, and spending time with grandchildren.

Dr. John F. Pelton - Professor Emeritus, 1985
Dr. Pelton passed away February 14, 2009. He had been active in naturalistically landscaping and maintaining trails on their 65 acres of meadow, savannah, and forest land in southern Indiana. He and his wife lived in Franklin, Indiana.

Dr. Stephen A. Perrill - Professor Emeritus, 2008
Phone: 317-255-1959
Email: sperrill@butler.edu
Dr. Perrill plans to spend more time with his grandchildren, traveling more with his wife Lynn, and continuing to play lots of tennis and a little more golf.

Dr. Philip A. St. John - Professor Emeritus, 1989
Dr. St. John moved to Plano, Texas to be near his daughter.  Mrs. St. John passed away about a year ago.

Dr. Willard F. Yates - Professor Emeritus, 1989
Dr. Yates and his wife Mary Ruth, recently moved to a farm in southern Indiana that has been in her family for years.