Higher Learning Commission Self-Study

From March 25 to March 27, 2013, Butler will undergo an evaluation from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) for institutional reaccreditation. Accreditation by one of the six regional accreditors is an important mark of quality and institutional integrity, and Butler is pleased to have its long history of being an accredited institution. Our last evaluation occurred in 2003 when a 10-year accreditation was granted. 

In order to prepare for a team of external reviewers, Butler University must prepare a self-study for the HLC to review prior to their arrival. A steering committee, under the leadership of Judi Morrel, Ph.D., Executive Director for the Center for High Achievement and Scholarly Engagement and Professor of Mathematics, and consisting of ten co-chairs of five work groups, will evaluate the entire educational institution. Besides assessing formal educational activities, it evaluates such things as mission, governance and administration, financial stability, admissions and student services, institutional resources, student learning, institutional effectiveness, and relationships with internal and external constituencies.

The work groups will complete their self-study reports in the fall of 2012, and in January of 2013, Butler will submit the final document to the HLC after solicitation of comments and suggestions from individuals and group forums.

In the United States, schools and colleges voluntarily seek accreditation from nongovernmental bodies.  Butler University is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), a Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The North Central Association of Colleges and Schools was founded in 1895 for the purpose of establishing close relations between the colleges and secondary schools of the region. Throughout its history, the Association has been committed to the improvement of education at all levels through evaluation and accreditation. The Higher Learning Commission, located in Chicago, accredits degree-granting institutions of higher education.